VERIFIED SOLUTION i
X

How to set up purge in EngageOne Vault

UPDATED: October 17, 2017


EngageOne Vault can be configured to automatically remove files older than a specific date using the Purge option.

This is covered in the e2 Vault Customizing Guide:
 
ADM Vault Purging / Document Expiry
ADM provides an automated method of removing expired documents from the Vault. The Document Purging task removes the documents from the 'available documents' list (usually shows the date and type of the document) from the server’s Vault. Note the following:
 
• The loader process checks for old data hourly.
• Each profile can specify the maximum retention period.
• There is a global retention default.
• Purging occurs daily.
• Old files are unindexed and deleted
 
The current system time and date on the server running ADM is critical. If the clock is set ahead (i.e. into the future) for some reason, expect it to purge all the data that would be purged as if that was the real date. If the system clock must be altered, be sure to halt the ADM Purging Service until the clock can be restored.
 
Note that Vault data and Vault Document repository pages files should be of the form:
 
YYYYMM*.DRD and YYYYMM*.DRP
where:
YYYY is a four-digit year
MM is a two-digit month number
DD is a two-digit day number (this is used if a value between 01-31 is present).
 
Configuring the ADM purging server
Configure the ADM purging parameters in the [Purge] section of the e2loaderd.ini file.
Syntax e2loaderd.ini
[Purge1]
enable=number
Months=number
profiles.ini
[someprofile]
purgemonths=number
Data Types number a positive integer; otherwise if months = -1 then purging is disabled.
 
Keywords and parameters:
Months Required. This is the number of months of data to KEEP. Anything older than this number of months will be purged from the Vault and permanently deleted: -1 (off)
enable enables the purge component: 0 (off) 1 (on)
purgemonths global value: sets per profile retention period in months (-1 means no purging for this profile)
 
Example e2loaderd.ini
[purge1]
enable=1
months=12
profiles.ini
[profile1]
purgemonths=-1
[profile2]
purgemonths=6
[profile3]
purgemonths=84

Please note that setting the purge option only removed files from the storage area (.drp, .drd and .jrn files) and removes the entries for the purged files from the indexes, it will not delete any log files, this needs to be done manually.

Environment Details

Windows, Linux, AIX

Downloads

  • No Downloads