VERIFIED SOLUTION i
X

How to preserve license and settings before uninstalling MapInfo Discover bundle or standalone

UPDATED: April 21, 2017


Licensing:

When a previously licensed MapInfo Discover is uninstalled, the license is preserved on that computer. Upon reinstalling, re-activation is not required.


Drillholes, custom projections, legends and configurations:

Drillhole project metadata and other user configuration information is usually saved in the user roaming profile and sub-folders (C:\Users\username\AppData\Roaming\Encom\Discover) or in the file paths specified in Discover > Configuration (32-bit) or PRO > Options > Configuration (64-bit). These are preserved on uninstall.

After reinstalling MapInfo Discover bundle, all custom projections in MapInfow.prj will be lost. Navigate to C:\Users\username\AppData\Local\Temp to locate the MapInfow_backup.prj file. Copy across custom projection from the backup file to the new MapInfow.prj file.

Note:
It is best practice not to replace the newly installed MapInfow.prj file with the backup projection file as any new projections added by MapInfo Pro will be lost.


Custom thematic templates and symbols:

Custom thematic templates and symbols are preserved under

Windows XP:     C:\Documents and Settings\YOURUSERNAME\Application Data\MapInfo\MapInfo\Professional\<version>
Windows 7 or 8: C:\Users\USERNAME\AppData\Roaming\MapInfo\MapInfo\Professional\<version>

Environment Details

Products affected: MapInfo Pro, MapInfo Discover

Downloads

  • No Downloads