What does the suffix in Australian Local Government Area name represent?

More detailed information about Australian Local Government Area (LGA) data can be found on the Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS) website here
The following information below was obtained from the ABS. 

Local Government Area names are abbreviated in the Local Government Area structure. A suffix also indicates the Local Government Area status. Examples of these include:
  • City of Albury: Albury (C)
  • District Council of Copper Coast: Copper Coast (DC)
Where the same Local Government Area name appears in different States or Territories, the State or Territory abbreviation appears in parenthesis after the name. Local Government Area names are therefore unique. 

In all States and the Northern Territory each incorporated area has an official status. In this ASGS edition, the various Local Government Area status types currently in use include: 
  • New South Wales: Cities (C) and Areas (A)
  • Victoria: Cities (C), Rural Cities (RC), Boroughs (B) and Shires (S)
  • Queensland: Cities (C), Shires (S), Towns (T) and Regional Councils (R)
  • South Australia: Cities (C), Rural Cities (RC), Municipalities/Municipal Councils (M), District Councils (DC), Regional Councils (RegC), Towns (T) and Aboriginal Councils (AC)
  • Western Australia: Cities (C), Towns (T) and Shires (S)
  • Tasmania: Cities (C) and Municipalities (M)
  • Northern Territory: Cities (C), Towns (T), Municipalities (M) and Shires (S).
UPDATED:  June 7, 2018